Visa on Arrival

Visa on Arrival

Citizens of certain countries may not need to obtain a Thai visa prior to their travel to the Kingdom as Visa on Arrival is available to them. When talking about Visa on Arrival: citizens of these countries are allowed to apply for a Thai visa upon their arrival in Thailand. Yet, unlike having a Thai visa prior to their visit in the Kingdom, their length of stay in the country will be limited to 15 days only as opposed to 30 days or even up to a year to some Thai visas as Visa on Arrival applications are intended for tourism purposes only.

When applying for a visa upon arrival, the applicant must be able to show proof of adequate financial status at 10,000 THB per person and 20,000 THB per family. These funds are to be used in the Kingdom if granted with visa as he and any of his family members would not be permitted to work and earn income while touring the country.

Also, his passport must have a validity of more than 6 months. Further, he also needs to submit a truthfully and completely filled up application form with a recently-taken photo. He then needs to pay the application fee of 1,000 THB.

While extension of stay may be readily available for aspiring foreign nationals although subject to application and thorough evaluation, with Visa on Arrival, this may not be the case unless circumstances requires him to stay further in the Kingdom i.e. being ill and travelling is not advised.

Visa on Arrival is available to citizens of the following countries:

  1. Bhutan
  2. China
  3. Cyprus
  4. Czech Republic
  5. Estonia
  6. Hungary
  7. India
  8. Kazakhstan
  9. Latvia
  10. Liechtenstein
  11. Lithuania
  12. Maldives
  13. Mauritius
  14. Poland
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. Slovakia
  17. Slovenia
  18. Taiwan
  19. Ukraine

See also website visa on arrival page.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *